Lucy, Lucy, Lucy

I started this blog to document my journey and to keep the search for who I am from slipping onto the proverbial back burner.  Honestly though, it’s not always about me.  Some days (weeks) it’s about what others need from me.  One son needs me to get him from band practice or take him to the store.  My other son needs me to listen to him talk about cars, watch a TV show with him, and watch his archery tournament.  My job needs me to get stuff done in a timely manner, with few errors and to meet deadlines.  Sometimes, “me” just has to wait.

When I can’t focus on rediscovering my passions (my reasons to wake up each day), it’s nice to have a diversion in the form of cats.  The two older cats of the house are well-behaved (notice I didn’t say “well-trained” because I’m not convinced a cat can be trained, and if they can, I doubt I have the skills to pull it off.)

Of the two kittens I brought home a month ago, I’ve seen that one is by far more curious; she is the one leading her sibling into mischief.  Lucy is the adventurous kitty’s name, as given by the Humane Society.  I’m not inclined to change it, because it makes me smile.  She makes me think of Lucy Ricardo in I Love Lucy, how she always seemed to get herself into trouble of some kind, in such funny ways.

My kitten, Lucy, makes me wish I could say “Lucy, you have some ‘splainin to do” in a thick Cuban accent.  Here is some of what Lucy has been up to over the last two days.  (Oh, she is a busy, busy kitty!)

12-2-lucy-as-a-bow
Lucy as Christmas package decoration
12-2-lucy-as-dinner
Lucy as… dinner??
12-2-lucy-vs-humidifier
Lucy vs. The Humidifier

In the days that follow, I would like to be a little more like Lucy.  I want to find a new place to relax and enjoy the view.  I want to be curious about the world around me and see everyday things with new eyes.

And I want to do it all anyway- even if someone tells me “no!” in a loud voice and sprays me with water.

Author: findingmedaily43

I used to enjoy hiking and snapping pictures along the way. I used to have creative ideas jotted on pieces of paper stacked on my desk. I used to laugh and look forward to spending time with others. I used to write. A lot. Through this blog, I'm making an effort each day to find myself.

6 thoughts on “Lucy, Lucy, Lucy”

  1. You know, your Lucy looks very much like a cat that “adopted” me several years ago when I lived my other life in Texas. It, too, was a Tabby, but “mine” was wild. It stayed outside in a box, ate the food I put out for it, but never came near for me to pet. I called it Smoky, and after a few months, it found a new place to call home. (This was way before Dallas — no way he’d let me keep a cat on the front porch!) Don’t you just love how inquisitive the young of all species are?!?

    Like

    1. I never would’ve guessed you were once “owned” by a cat, Debbie! It’s true, the young are more exploratory and adventurous. Many seem to lose that curiosity with age. I did catch one of the older cats playing with Lucy today… they took turns sneaking up on each other and both of them cracked me up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, yes, I was doing a project for Kitty Litter at the time, and it just felt like serendipity!! Enjoy your duo — when I get to laughing over Dallas’s antics, I tend for forget all my problems (at least for a while, ha!!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

