Happiness Is…

Being on the bottom of a purring cat pile…

12-15-cat-pile
Pinned down by 4 cats…. everything else can wait!

But the thing about happiness is it’s easily marred by external factors, as illustrated by this text exchange with my friend.

Me: <sending above picture> Check this out, all 4 cats on me

Friend:  I’m jealous

Me: Don’t be… I have to pee and my back hurts 🙂

And just like that, a cozy situation becomes uncomfortable (literally!)

This is why I prefer to seek joy.  Joy exists deep inside and can’t be stolen through discomfort or struggle.

Now, for a bit of Lucy.

Lucy is my more adventurous kitten (sometimes she’s lovingly referred to as “trouble”).  When I introduced an activity cat feeder designed to slow their feeding down, my two older cats gave me a you-can’t-be-serious look and sauntered (waddled) away.  Lucy, on the other hand, jumped right in.  When sticking her head in the tunnels didn’t work, she finally figured out to use her paw and was rewarded with first dibs on the kibble.

12-15lucy2
Lucy cleaning up… sort of

One thing I love about Lucy is she plays hard and takes investigation to an all new (sometimes frustrating) level, but when it’s time to rest, she knows how to do it right.  And for me, that is pure joy 🙂

12-15-lucy1
This makes working difficult, but perhaps I could take a short break…

 

 

Author: findingmedaily43

I used to enjoy hiking and snapping pictures along the way. I used to have creative ideas jotted on pieces of paper stacked on my desk. I used to laugh and look forward to spending time with others. I used to write. A lot. Through this blog, I'm making an effort each day to find myself.

12 thoughts on “Happiness Is…”

  1. That’s what we call being ‘catted’, and extracting oneself to pee can be an adventure in itself. Lucy is really beautiful. Cats bring lots of joy to our lives.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I wish Dallas would enjoy being cuddled — and giving cuddles in return. I guess he’s got just too much coat for comfy cuddling because he gets hot and can’t get away fast enough! Now that it’s cold outside, you’d think that would change … but you’d be wrong!! Enjoy your pile of kitties!

    Like

    1. I’ve had pets that were touch- me- nots, and some that were okay with petting, but if I tried to pick them up, they were gone. Dallas is beautiful so it’s a shame he avoids snuggles… he probably doesn’t want to mess up his gorgeous coat 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

